Aplington Fire Dept. named IFA outstanding department

Center: Ken Mehmen; left to right first row: Will McCord, Nick Koenen,Evan Stahl, Pat Prier, Matt Johnston, Randy Harken, Eric Bierman, Kelly Harken, Red Dreesman. Last row: Noah Hartson, Greg Nevenhoven, Quinn Edeker, Kelly Eilderts, Tony Everts, Tyler Nevenhoven, Dennis Huisman. Not pictured: Scott Poppen, Mike Luze, Cameron Cook. (Photo submitted by Deb Prier)

The Iowa Firefighters Association named the Aplington Fire Department the Outstanding Department for 2018 at the IFA mid-year convention and banquet on April 13.

The award recognizes one fire department in Iowa each year that has been a great supporter of the Iowa Firefighters Association and the Fire Service. The Aplington Fire Department was recognized for its community involvement, volunteer work, and for going the extra mile to support one of its members.

“My wife had a brain injury a year ago … and unbeknownst to me, they arranged a benefit for us, worked hard and got a lot of things together…” Assistant Chief Ken Mehmen said. “Those guys are the best bunch of brothers.”

In December, Mehmen wrote a letter to nominate the department.

For the full story, see this week’s Eclipse News-Review. Subscribe by calling 319-346-1461 or by clicking here.